Showing posts with label Historic Newcastle. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Historic Newcastle. Show all posts

Saturday, July 22, 2017

Newcastle Pubs Ouseburn


Newcastle Pubs, Ouseburn. 

These are all pubs based in the Ouseburn area of Newcastle, a major regeneration area for the city, involving art, business and leisure.
Pictures of boats on the river Ouseburn.
Please click on each image for the full size photo.

The Tyne Bar 
Many years ago this pub was known as The Ship Tavern, a notorious pub known more for “adult services” on offer upstairs than the beer it sold. The Tyne Bar was refurbished in 1994 and is situated where the Ouseburn meets the Tyne.

Northumbrian Images Blogspot

The Tyne BarThe Tyne Bar, Northumbrian Images Blogspot.

The Cluny 
The building was built in 1848 when is was used as a flax spinning mill. At one point in it's history the building was used as a Scotch whisky bottling plant, the whisky was  known as Cluny, hence the current name.
An artists group bought the building in 1982 and the Cluny Bar was opened in 1999.
In recent years the Cluny was voted one of the top 100 bars in the world and 36 Lime St in which the bar is situated is a grade two listed building.
The Cluny is an established live music venue.

Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

Free Trade Inn
The Free Trade Inn is a long established pub overlooking the Tyne and known for having a diverse range of both beer and customers. 
Recently the Free Trade was voted one of the top ten pubs in the UK. 

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

The Ship Inn
Based on Stepney Bank in the Ouseburn area, the Ship Inn is one of the oldest pubs in the area, in recent years the Ship has become known for it's Vegan menu.

Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

The Cumberland Arms
The Cumberland is home to a wide range of beers from the North East and across the British Isles. The pub is also home to traditional folk music and was voted one of the best venues for this type of music by hillwalker magazine.


The Tanners Arms
The Tanners has styled itself "Eats Beats and Beer" .
A classic old style pub with food and live music as well as traditional beer.



  

Sunday, July 02, 2017

Wylam Brewery Newcastle Exhibition Park


Wylam Brewery, Newcastle Exhibition Park.

Wylam Brewery opened in the year 2000 and moved to it's present location at the restored Newcastle Exhibition Park Palace of Arts building in May 2016.
To see further photos of beautiful Exhibition Park and more about the history of this part of Newcastle please click here
Please click on each image for the full size photo.    

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot
 
Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot
 
Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot


Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot
 
Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Wednesday, May 31, 2017

George Stephenson Monument Newcastle


George Stephenson Monument, Newcastle.

The monument stands near Newcastle's Central Station and was designed by local sculpture John Graham Lough & unvieled in 1862 .
This memorial shows George Stephenson "The Father of the Railways" with an engineering plan in his hand.
The four characters shown near the base of the statue represent an engineer, a blacksmith, a miner with a safety lamp (another Stephenson design) and a plate layer with the type of rail also invented by Stephenson.
Further photos of the history of George and Robert Stephenson.
Please click on each image for the full size photo.

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images BlogspotNorthumbrian Images Blogspot
 
Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Thursday, December 15, 2016

Black Gate Newcastle


Black Gate, Newcastle.

The Black Gate in Newcastle was built between 1247 and 1250 during the reign of King Henry 111. It was last piece of Newcastle's medieval defences.
To see the Castle Keep of Newcastle please click here.
Please click on each image for the full size photo. 

Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images Blogspot  Northumbrian Images Blogspot

Northumbrian Images Blogspot  Northumbrian Images Blogspot
   

Thursday, September 29, 2016

Bessie Surtees House Newcastle Quayside


Bessie Surtees House, Newcastle Quayside.

Bessie Surtees House is the name given to two five story Jacobean houses built in the 16th and 17th centuries. Originally the two houses were known as Surtees House and Milbank House. 
Bessie Surtees eloped with John Scott a coal merchant's son who went on to become Lord Eldon, Lord Chancellor of England.
A cast iron plaque is situated below the window from which Bessie eloped.   
The property is now owned by Historic England and is their office covering the North East & is a grade 1 listed building.