Blackfriars in Newcastle was established in the early years of the 13th century.
Friars were slightly different to monks in that they lived and worked more closely to centres of population and Blackfriars was situated inside the Newcastle City Walls.
Blackfriars contained two gardens which helped provide a small income.
Newcastle Blackfriars was visited by Royalty more than once and in 1334 King Edward 111 and Edward Balliol claimant to the Scottish throne met there.
During Henry V111's reformation in 1536 many of the buildings were demolished and the land was sold to Newcastle corporation. It then became the centre for many city guilds.
During the 19th and much of the 20th century the area fell into dereliction and was only restored between 1974 and 1981.
Modern Blackfriars now is home to craft shops and a highly regarded restaurant.
The Blackfriars order returned to the city in the 19th century and is now situated in New Bridge Street.