North Shields High and Low Lights.
The North Shields High and Low Lights were built originally in the 16th century by the Guild of the Blessed Trinity to provide a course for ships to align on the lights to navigate a safe passage into the river Tyne, In particular to avoid the dangerous Black Middens.
The lights were built from 1808 and the Low Light is a heritage centre while the High Light is now residential.
Included in the photos are the older High Lights and Trinity buildings in North Shields.
Photos of North Shields Fish Quay can be seen here.
Please click on each image for the full size photo.